Be Kind

Your potential is infinite, your value endless.

I don’t know if you have this problem too (and as much as I would like to be “normal” I hope you don’t), but I have this complete and total jerk that I have to deal with on a daily basis. This person belittles me almost constantly. Nothing that I do is ever worthy of praise. I never get a pat on the back, or a job well done even when I’m doing my best. But at the smallest error, I get an earful of demeaning, harsh, sometimes castigating remarks. It is almost constant and they have known me so long that they know all of my flaws, all of the things that I have done wrong in the past, and every word is calculated to make me feel as small as possible. That jerk is the little voice inside my head.

I am so sorry if there are people in your life who treat you that way, who only see flaws. I am sorriest of all if that person is you. You have so much brilliance in you. Every one of you is unique under the sun. You are strong, talented, loving, hard-working, caring, sympathetic, intelligent, and powerful. Your potential is infinite, your value endless. Take ownership of those words because they belong to you. Each and every one of you has or is fighting a hard battle and even though you may not feel like it, you are winning because you are still here fighting.

If there is no one in your life who will say these things to you, then it is your responsibility to say them to yourself. You may not believe it at first. That’s okay. Sometimes I don’t believe it either. But it’s true. All of it.

Treat yourself as you would treat a close friend who is hurting, who is vulnerable. If you wouldn’t say it to them, don’t think it to yourself. Be kind to yourself. Your longest and most important relationship will always be the one you have with yourself.

One thought on “Be Kind

Leave a Reply

