Don’t Say No To Me

How do you accept a negative answer when you know that your parent can give you what you want?

I have a toddler. The word “no” erupts from my lips more than 100 times per day. I hate it. My toddler hates it. So many “nos.” We are at the point where sass has entered my little one’s soul. I don’t know when it happened, but one day she became my little mirror. Where once my little sunflower would absorb everything, now everything I send out gets shot right back at me. It is terrifying when she reflects me. There is so much about myself that I need to change. So very much.

My little one, like everyone else, has a limit.

“Don’t say no to me,” is what I hear when she has reached her limit.

She is more like me than I would wish.

“Don’t say no to me.” Those words have been on my lips daily for the past six months when I speak to my Father.

How do you accept a negative answer when you know that your parent can give you what you want?

It makes her angry. It makes me angry.

Somehow I have to teach her. Somehow I have to help her understand why I say “no” when she wants to help me take something out of a hot oven, or cut vegetables, or when she doesn’t want to sit in her car seat. But she doesn’t understand. Not yet. Not really. Not today.

One day she will understand why I said “no”. One day she will know that I only had her best interests at heart. One day she will know that I only said “no” because I love her.

I hope that one day I will understand all of His “nos” too.

Light The Darkness,

Dana Nevels

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

